License is Out of Date

This forum is intended to act as technical support for users who have issues or questions regarding the PISD Webstore.
Post Reply
Cap
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun 26 May, 2013 2:01 pm

License is Out of Date

Post by Cap » Sat 16 Nov, 2013 2:39 pm

Please address this specific problem as I am certain that it has happened to almost every user of this product. The game is properly installed and has been used many times. Unfortunately, because of some software glitch not related to the game, I am suddenly getting "This license is Out of Date". How can that be? What causes this? How can it be avoided? Most importantly, how do I fix this?

Cap

timbobw28
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 09 Oct, 2013 2:32 am

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by timbobw28 » Sat 16 Nov, 2013 10:14 pm

I am getting the same message. Thus I am not able to play the game.

Infinity
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue 11 Jun, 2013 7:23 am

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Infinity » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 5:24 am

Cap,

Try logging into the webstore then releasing the licenses. After receiving notice that you have done so, please try reentering the licenses as that should fix the problem, unless it's something new that Paul has to ferret out.

Good Luck!

John

Cap
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun 26 May, 2013 2:01 pm

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Cap » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 12:59 pm

So, John, to the best of your knowledge, releasing the license via the webstore is the only way to fix this? In Windows 8, where do you go to unlicense the game, or is that option gone? Seems like a drastic option to fix what could turn out to be a repeatable occurrance.... :?

fighting fisherman
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 16 Nov, 2013 2:40 pm

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by fighting fisherman » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 2:10 pm

I wonder if releasing the license and then re-entering itwill delete the fight data already stored there from previous bouts? I have a heavyweight tournament in progress that I want to continue.

Infinity
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue 11 Jun, 2013 7:23 am

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Infinity » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 2:46 pm

You release the game from inside of it. Main Menu, options, then the General tab to do so. Then from the website request that the license be released. Once that's done, then go back to the game and re-enter the license. I see no reason why you would need to do a reinstall.

Cap
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun 26 May, 2013 2:01 pm

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Cap » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 3:46 pm

Infinity wrote:You release the game from inside of it. Main Menu, options, then the General tab to do so. Then from the website request that the license be released. Once that's done, then go back to the game and re-enter the license. I see no reason why you would need to do a reinstall.
Nothing I've tried worked. I uninstalled the game did a download from the webstore and ran the game again. Still says the License is out of date and yadda yadda. When I go into the game, it says Unable to check license. According to the webstore, the license is not being used. Now the game on my other laptop is telling me my license is out of date too. :x

User avatar
Paul Norman
Site Admin
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu 21 May, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Bognor Regis, England
Contact:

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Paul Norman » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 10:08 pm

fighting fisherman wrote:I wonder if releasing the license and then re-entering itwill delete the fight data already stored there from previous bouts? I have a heavyweight tournament in progress that I want to continue.
No, releasing the licence will not effect any saved games...

User avatar
Paul Norman
Site Admin
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu 21 May, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Bognor Regis, England
Contact:

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Paul Norman » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 10:18 pm

The "out of date" issue has been resolved in v1.3, but in previous versions it is cleared by reconnecting your pc to the internet and restarting the game. If your PC is standalone then manually release and re-enter your licence.

You should not need to select release in your webstore account as the error is in the game only. It seems that the game gets upset if it can;t talk to my servers often enough. The licence is marked as "stale". The fix is to persuade the game to contact the pisd servers. So go to options and release the licence, then continue your game, enter the serial you use and if it comes back hit re-try, I am aware that the MacOS can be a little slow making initial contact.

Cap
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun 26 May, 2013 2:01 pm

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Cap » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 10:33 pm

I've been online all day, Paul. I've tried everything you mention and some things you haven't. I've released both licenses and uninstalled the game, then reinstalled and tried running again. It insists that my license is out of date. When I key in the code and hit TRY AGAIN, nothing happens. By the way you can't release the license inside the game under present conditions.

timbobw28
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 09 Oct, 2013 2:32 am

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by timbobw28 » Sun 17 Nov, 2013 11:41 pm

I am not able to release the license from within the game. Any other ideas on how to fix this problem?

timbobw28
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 09 Oct, 2013 2:32 am

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by timbobw28 » Mon 18 Nov, 2013 1:09 am

How does a person get version 1.3? Where does a person download that version of the game? Would like to be able to install that version of the game since it is supposed to not have this license issue.

Thanks,
Tim

User avatar
Paul Norman
Site Admin
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu 21 May, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Bognor Regis, England
Contact:

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Paul Norman » Mon 18 Nov, 2013 5:49 pm

There is a built in debug dialog which can help here, but it can seem a little fiddly. So please try this:

* Open the game
* At the start page (outside the Gym) press cntr-F1. You should get the "Debug Streams" dialog
* Find and click on "PISD Platform" in the list. A selection of check boxes should appear in the lower half of the dialog
* Select "Write to console" and "Write to file" options
* Close the dialog

Now when you try to licence the game you should get a black screen pop up with trace in on WIndows. On Mac and Linux this trace is written to the calling shell. A copy of all this trace will be placed in "Documents/tbcb2013/debug/PISD Platform.txt". Once your licence attempt failes, quit the game and email me that file to someone@pisd.co.uk

Cheers

Paul

User avatar
Paul Norman
Site Admin
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu 21 May, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Bognor Regis, England
Contact:

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Paul Norman » Tue 19 Nov, 2013 4:04 pm

I would like to tentatively suggest this might be resolved.... Can you try again and let me know if there is still an issue.

My hosting provider moved my old external server the other day. This was a physical relocation to another webfarm. I have noticed that the parts of the tbcb website still on this server are slow to respond, so I have moved the webstore daemon over onto my new webserver. Since doing this I have had a couple of reports the this problem has suddenly gone away. This leads me to believe it was a connection issue with my hosting provider's connection to my old server...

Please prove my hunch correct... ;)

fighting fisherman
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 16 Nov, 2013 2:40 pm

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by fighting fisherman » Tue 19 Nov, 2013 5:08 pm

TBCB opened without the licensing issue this morning and I was able to continue with my tournament. Thanks for quickly fixing the problem on your end.

User avatar
Paul Norman
Site Admin
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu 21 May, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Bognor Regis, England
Contact:

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Paul Norman » Wed 20 Nov, 2013 11:50 am

Great news... I still don't understand why my old server stopped working, I spent an hour on the phone to my hosting provider yesterday and neither of us could see anything wrong!

At least the new one it working! ;)

timbobw28
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 09 Oct, 2013 2:32 am

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by timbobw28 » Thu 21 Nov, 2013 2:19 am

Uninstalled the game the other day. Re-installed it today and everything is working again. Thanks for all your help in resolving this issue Paul.

Tim

Cap
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun 26 May, 2013 2:01 pm

Re: License is Out of Date

Post by Cap » Thu 21 Nov, 2013 6:00 pm

Great. Got my game back up I noticed. Good thing. Now Paul can focus his renewed energies on finishing 1.3 before the new year dawns, eh. ;)

Post Reply